Center for Archaeological Research
In the spring of 1977 the Center for Archaeological Research was requested by Ronald Darner, Director of the San Antonio Parks and Recreation Department, to investigate and record sections of the old acequias, or irrigation ditches which were involved in renovation and landscaping projects in city parks. The purpose of this report is to present the information gained in this endeavor ln lasting and usable form for the future benefit of historians and archaeologists working with these unique and interesting structures.
Since time and space did not allow an exhaustive discussion of the acequia system of San Antonio, the reader is referred to a number of other works which treat the subject in considerable detail, such as A Brief on the Acequias of San Antonio, compiled by Minor and Steinberg (1968); Holmes’ thesis, The Acequias of San Antonio (1962); and Areson’s article, “Early Irrigation in Texas (1921); as well as the section on acequias in William’s Corner book, San Antonio de Bexar (1890). The only other professional archaeological excavations which have been done in San Antonio acequias were those of the Witte Memorial Museum in two different sections of the Alamo, or Valero, acequia during 1966 (Scheutz 1970) and a brief excavation adjacent to this same acequia within the Alamo grounds by The University of Texas at San Antonio in 1973 (Adams and Hester 1973).
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
American Material Culture Commons, Archaeological Anthropology Commons, Environmental Studies Commons, Other American Studies Commons, Other Arts and Humanities Commons, Other History of Art, Architecture, and Archaeology Commons, United States History Commons
Tell us how this article helped you.